ESG Blue Economy

DWS Concept ESG Blue Economy

DWS Concept ESG Blue Economy: equity fund focuses on ocean protection


With the DWS Concept ESG Blue Economy, DWS is expanding its thematic ESG product range with a new globally investing equity fund. The aim of the fund, managed by Paul Buchwitz, is to support the “Blue Economy” and to have a positive impact on the sustainable actions of companies. The focus is therefore primarily on shares of companies related to coastal and marine ecosystems.

The following figures make clear how much potential there is in the blue economy :

“The blue economy is expected to grow twice as fast as the established economy by 2030.”

Paul Buchwitz with a view to the Oceans Day on 8 June 2021

The World Wide Fund for Nature (WWF) puts the global value of ocean-related assets at around 24 trillion dollars. And the annual “gross ocean product” of the oceans, at 2.5 trillion dollars, is so large that it would rank the Blue Economy eighth among the world’s largest economies. Due to the enormous importance of the oceans, not only as an economic resource, but also for the preservation of ecosystems and biodiversity, the United Nations Environment Programme Finance Initiative (UNEP FI), together with the WWF, has defined criteria for five ocean-related sectors, which the DWS Concept ESG Blue Economy has integrated into the investment process.

Focus on the health of the marine ecosystem

The focus of the fund is, for example, on companies that help to curb ocean acidification, reduce marine pollution and those that deal with the sustainable use of marine resources, ecosystems as well as sustainable fisheries. These include companies that contribute to ocean health and focus on sustainable consumption, reducing carbon emissions and preventing water pollution. There is also a focus on ocean-dependent sectors such as shipping and ports, energy and resources, coastal tourism and aquaculture.

Close dialogue with companies

“We invest in companies that offer solutions that can help the Blue Economy become more sustainable. However, the focus is also on companies that use the ocean as a resource and have already started to transform their business models or demonstrate their willingness to act more sustainably in the future. In addition, we enter into intensive dialogue with selected companies that have a clear negative impact on the ocean and have not yet embarked on the right path.”

Paul Buchwitz – DWS Concept ESG Blue Economy fund manager

Engagement process in cooperation with WWF

In the context of the fund, DWS relies on a partnership with WWF, the world’s largest independent conservation organisation.

“We are looking forward to working closely together to set concrete and measurable sustainability targets for companies and to document, review and evaluate them on a regular basis. By redirecting capital flows into sustainable business models, the financial industry has tremendous leverage which can be used to protect the planet. By applying the marine conservation criteria to companies, we can work with DWS to push the transition of marine-related industries. The fact that DWS, as an investor, can use its voting rights or draw attention to the urgency of transitioning from unsustainable business models in discussions with decision-makers is particularly relevant.”

Parisa Shahyari, an economist at WWF

With the WWF partnership, DWS is expanding its previous commitment to marine conservation. Among other things, it has been supporting the Healthy Seas organisation since 2019 to rid the world’s oceans of ghost nets

More information about the “The Blue Economy” can be found here.

Source: DWS

Post Author: Wealth Monaco

ESG Blue Economy

DWS Concept ESG Blue Economy

Lancement du fonds DWS Concept ESG Blue Economy


Avec le DWS Concept ESG Blue Economy, le groupe élargit sa gamme de ses produits ESG. L’objectif du fonds, géré par Paul Buchwitz, est de soutenir l’« économie bleue » et d’avoir un impact positif sur les actions durables des entreprises. L’accent est donc mis principalement sur les actions d’entreprises liées aux écosystèmes côtiers et marins.

Les chiffres suivants montrent clairement le potentiel de l’économie bleue :

“L’économie bleue devrait croître deux fois plus vite que l’économie établie d’ici 2030.”

Paul Buchwitz en vue de la Journée des Océans – 8 Juin 2021

Le WWF évalue la valeur mondiale des actifs liés aux océans à environ 24.000 milliards de dollars. Et le “produit océanique brut” annuel des océans, à 2.500 milliards de dollars, est si important qu’il classerait l’économie bleue au huitième rang des plus grandes économies du monde. En raison de l’importance considérable des océans, non seulement en tant que ressource économique, mais aussi pour la préservation des écosystèmes et de la biodiversité, l’Initiative financière du Programme des Nations Unies pour l’environnement (UNEP FI), en collaboration avec le WWF, a défini des critères pour cinq secteurs liés aux océans, que le DWS Concept ESG Blue Economy a intégrés dans le processus d’investissement.

Focus sur la santé de l’écosystème marin

Le fonds se concentre, par exemple, sur les entreprises qui contribuent à freiner l’acidification des océans, à réduire la pollution marine et celles qui s’occupent de l’utilisation durable des ressources marines, des écosystèmes ainsi que de la pêche durable. Il s’agit notamment des entreprises qui contribuent à la santé des océans et se concentrent sur la consommation durable, la réduction des émissions de carbone et la prévention de la pollution de l’eau. L’accent est également mis sur les secteurs dépendant des océans, tels que la navigation et les ports, l’énergie et les ressources, le tourisme côtier et l’aquaculture.

Dialogue rapproché avec les entreprises

” Nous investissons dans des entreprises qui proposent des solutions susceptibles d’aider l’économie bleue à devenir plus durable. Toutefois, l’accent est également mis sur les entreprises qui utilisent l’océan comme une ressource et qui ont déjà commencé à transformer leurs modèles d’entreprise ou à démontrer leur volonté d’agir de manière plus durable à l’avenir. En outre, nous entamons un dialogue intensif avec certaines entreprises qui ont un impact négatif évident sur l’océan et qui ne se sont pas encore engagées sur la bonne voie.”

Paul Buchwitz – Gestionaire du fonds DWS Concept ESG Blue Economy

Processus d’engagement en coopération avec le WWF

Dans le cadre du fonds, DWS s’appuie sur un partenariat avec le WWF, la plus grande organisation de conservation indépendante au monde.

“Nous sommes impatients de travailler en étroite collaboration pour définir des objectifs de développement durable concrets et mesurables pour les entreprises et pour les documenter, les examiner et les évaluer régulièrement. En redirigeant les flux de capitaux vers des modèles économiques durables, le secteur financier dispose d’un formidable levier qui peut être utilisé pour protéger la planète. En appliquant les critères de conservation marine aux entreprises, nous pouvons travailler avec DWS pour favoriser la transition des industries liées à la mer. Le fait que DWS, en tant qu’investisseur, puisse utiliser ses droits de vote ou attirer l’attention sur l’urgence de la transition de modèles commerciaux non durables dans les discussions avec les décideurs est particulièrement pertinent. »

Parisa Shahyari, Economiste au WWF

Grace au partenariat avec le WWF, DWS étend son engagement déjà bien affirmé envers la conservation marine. Elle soutient entre autres l’organisation Healthy Seas depuis 2019 pour débarrasser les océans du monde des filets fantômes

Vous trouverez plus d’informations sur la « blue economy » ici.

Source: DWS

Auteur de l’article : Wealth Monaco