Laurent Babikian

Interview Laurent Babikian, CDP Europe

Wealth Monaco met Laurent Babikian, head of CDP’s European capital markets team, who agreed to present two CDP environmental rating methods to us.

Founded in 2000, the CDP formerly called the Carbon Disclosure Project, is a global non-profit, environmental impact organization whose ambition is to transform capital markets through environmental reporting (impacts on climate, deforestation, water security) and make environmental risk management a new standard.

CDP is one of the main providers of extra-financial data to international rating agencies. For Laurent Babikian, there is now a real challenge in finding a common language in ESG.

«To achieve this, you need the alphabet on the one hand, and the grammar on the other. The alphabet corresponds to the European taxonomy which is complicated but under construction and which will be in place by 2022; grammar is the standard for ESG reporting, which is currently being debated between the United States and Europe »

Laurent Babikian – Head of the European Capital Markets team for CDP

CDP’s goal is to increase the market transparency about climate, water and forest related risks and opportunities so as to enable the financial flows to move from “brown assets” to “green assets” : Climetrics which provides a global assessment of the risks and opportunities linked to a fund’s climate, and the CDP Temperature Ratings, which provides a temperature trajectory of companies and funds based on the companies in which it invests.

Climetrics

The Climatrics system independently rates thousands of actively managed funds and exchange-traded funds (ETFs) to provide investors with transparency about climate-related risks when comparing funds.

The rating given to the fund is symbolized by the emblem of a leaf, and measures the portfolio’s level of exposure to climate risks and opportunities, as well as the fund’s investment policy and the public action of the asset manager. on climate change. Scores range from 1 to 5 leaves when managers’ climate governance is well above average

The methodology of Climetrics consists of 3 sub-evaluations, the first of which is to take into account up to 10% the commitment and governance of the asset manager; 5% of the rating is calculated based on the fund itself, and the remaining 85% corresponds to the portfolio, depending on the companies that compose it.

Only 2.65% of all rated funds, or 510 funds in total, score 5 leaves.

CDP Temperature Ratings

The innovative approach of this methodology lies in translating companies’ emissions targets into temperature pathway.

To help investors compare, report and reduce the temperature of their portfolios and products, the Temperature Rating dataset provides a temperature trajectory for 3,000 companies worldwide, based on reduction targets emissions covering all relevant emissions in a company’s value chain.

Temperature levels reflect the potential for long-term global warming if global GHG emissions were to decrease at the same rate as the business. Consequently, the indications of the Temperature Ratings of the CDP give investors a clear standard, based on scientific data and uniform in order to easily take the measure of the actions to be implemented in favor of a sustainable economy, and to offer investors the possibility of better managing the risks associated with the climate transition.

For fund managers, this solution enables them to sustain their portfolios and funds against climate change. The reference temperature for scientists being 1.5 ° to avoid the devastating and costly effects of global warming, ratings above these 1.5 ° are therefore supposed to alert all stakeholders, and lead them to choose less impactful companies.

Article: Joana Foglia – Interview : Laurent Babikian – Head of the European Capital Markets team – CDP

Post Author: Wealth Monaco

Laurent Babikian

Interview Laurent Babikian, CDP Europe

Wealth Monaco a rencontré Laurent Babikian, responsable de l’équipe des marchés de capitaux en Europe du CDP, qui a accepté de nous présenter deux méthodes de notation environnementale du CDP.

Fondée en 2000, le CDP anciennement appelé le Carbon Disclosure Project, est une organisation mondiale à but non lucratif, à impact environnemental qui a pour ambition de transformer les marchés de capitaux en faisant du reporting environnemental (impacts sur le climat, déforestation, sécurité de l’eau) et de faire de la gestion des risques environnementaux une nouvelle norme.

Le CDP est l’un des fournisseurs principaux des données extra-financières aux agences de notations internationales. Pour Laurent Babikian, il y a aujourd’hui un vrai enjeu à trouver un langage commun en matière d’ESG.

«Pour y parvenir, il faut d’une part l’alphabet, et d’autre part, la grammaire. L’alphabet, c’est la taxonomie européenne qui est compliquée mais qui se construit et qui sera en place d’ici 2022 ; la grammaire, c’est le standard du reporting ESG, dont le débat se joue actuellement entre les États-Unis et l’Europe »

Laurent Babikian – Direction de l’équipe des marchés de capitaux en Europe pour le CDP

L’objectif du CDP est d’accroître le plus facilement possible la transparence du marché sur les risques et opportunités liés au climat, à l’eau et à la forêt afin de permettre aux flux financiers de passer des «actifs bruns» aux «actifs verts», et pour cela, deux produits phare du CDP offrent une visualisation immédiate et accessible à tous de l’état actuel et futur des fonds : Climetrics qui fournit une évaluation globale des risques et opportunités liés au climat d’un fonds, et le CDP Temperature Ratings, qui fournit une trajectoire de température des entreprises et des fonds en fonction des entreprises dans lesquelles il investit.

Climetrics

Le système Climatrics évalue indépendamment des milliers de fonds gérés activement et de fonds négociés en bourse (ETF) afin d’offrir aux investisseurs une transparence sur les risques liés au climat lors de la comparaison des fonds.

La note donnée au fonds est symbolisée par l’emblème d’une feuille, et mesure le niveau d’exposition du portefeuille aux risques et opportunités climatiques, ainsi que la politique d’investissement du fonds et l’action publique du gestionnaire d’actifs sur le changement climatique. Les notes vont de 1 à 5 feuilles lorsque la gouvernance climatique des gestionnaires est très supérieure à la moyenne

La méthodologie de Climetrics se compose en 3 sous-évaluations, dont la première est de prendre en compte à hauteur de 10% l’engagement et la gouvernance du gestionnaire d’actifs ; 5% de la note est calculée en fonction du fonds lui-même, et les 85% restants correspondent au portefeuille, en fonction des sociétés qui le compose.

Seulement 2,65% de tous les fonds notés, soit 510 fonds au total, obtiennent une note équivalente à 5 feuilles.

CDP Temperature Ratings

L’approche novatrice de cette méthodologie réside dans le fait de traduire les objectifs d’émissions des entreprises en trajectoire de température.

Pour aider les investisseurs à comparer, à communiquer et à réduire la température de leurs portefeuilles et de leurs produits, l’ensemble des données du Temperature Rating fournit une trajectoire de température pour 3000 entreprises dans le monde, sur la base d’objectifs de réduction des émissions couvrant toutes les émissions pertinentes dans la chaîne de valeur d’une entreprise.

Les niveaux de température reflètent le potentiel de réchauffement planétaire à long terme si les émissions mondiales de GES diminuaient au même rythme que l’entreprise. En conséquence, les indications du Température Ratings du CDP donnent aux investisseurs une norme claire, fondée sur des données scientifiques et uniformes afin de prendre facilement la mesure des actions à mettre en place en faveur d’une économie durable, et d’offrir aux investisseurs la possibilité de mieux gérer les risques liés à la transition climatique.

Pour les gestionnaires de fonds, cette solution leur permet de pérenniser leurs portefeuilles et leurs fonds contre le changement climatique. La température de référence pour les scientifiques étant de 1,5° pour éviter les effets dévastateurs et coûteux du réchauffement climatique, les notes supérieures à ces 1,5° sont donc censées alerter toutes les parties prenantes, et les amener à choisir des entreprises moins impactantes.

Article: Joana Foglia – Interview : Laurent Babikian – Direction de l’équipe des marchés de capitaux en Europe – CDP

Auteur de l’article : Wealth Monaco