Edmond de Rothschild

You’ll never walk alone


At the beginning of a financial bubble, there is always some great story that a growing number of investors buy into. This brings asset prices to ever higher levels. Credibility grows and then all the ingredients come together. All bubbles end up bursting and drive many over-leveraged investors to ruin.

To the killjoys who warn of the dangers of investing in a company valued at 300x earnings3, an ever-growing number of actors respond, “it’s different this time”. These words have particular resonance for market operators, because they have heard them many times in the past. They are a warning that a financial bubble is forming. That’s the observation that we now have to make about many companies active in the two themes we referenced.

However, while there is likely a bubble within digitalisation and decarbonisation pure players, the fact remains that these issues will be central to the investments of all companies for many years to come. The following chart illustrates investors’ unbridled enthusiasm for green energy companies. These spectacular price spikes are mostly cause for caution and prompt us to steer clear of these specialised companies in the coming year.

Debt matters. Sacrificing principles in the name of an emergency is a choice, but this decision comes at a cost and the cost of debt is never free or without consequences. Debt is the compounding factor in the bursting of a bubble when a sudden drop in prices materializes.

2020 was a very unusual year which saw the global economy collapse. Amid the turmoil, a sharp division arose between COVID winners and losers. Thus, companies active in the digitalisation of the economy and the green economy performed remarkably well while the more traditional consumer, tourism and oil sectors collapsed.

At the same time, investors could see that sovereign bonds were helpless to protect diversified portfolios. Gold proved to be the right choice of instrument to absorb the market shocks.

Growth projections of GDP – Milder slow-down & fast recovery after Covid

2021 will be the year in which the economy rebounds. The arrival of the COVID vaccines is a key step in returning to a more normal economy in which people and goods move more freely than in 2020.

Supported by very large-scale fiscal stimulus plans (between 5% and 10% of GDP) and with interest rates held at near-zero levels (on all maturities of all bonds of all developed countries), the economy is expected to rebound very strongly. The stimulus plans will focus on digitalisation and energy efficiency.

Risky assets, and equities in particular, are expected to be the big winners in the gradual shift back to normalcy… provided they are carefully selected. In 2020, the markets acknowledged the credibility of these themes by pushing the market valuations of green energy and digitalisation pure players to very high levels.

For 2021, we believe that the most robust investment opportunities will be found among companies that have the most to do in this area (construction, industrial and 5G sectors, among others).

The excessive valuations of some of the companies in these sectors are both the main theme of economic growth in the coming years and one of the main risks to the financial markets. No one knows when a bubble will burst and excessive valuations could become more unreasonable for some time yet before slowly or suddenly losing steam. In 2000, the technology bubble popped suddenly, dragging the entire market along with it. It was, however, during this period of collapse that investors rediscovered the virtues of reasonable valuations in the least glamourous sectors of the time: banks. The latter subsequently delivered record stock market performances.

The monetary and fiscal stimuluses are large in scale and occurring simultaneously in all developed countries. It is therefore more than likely that the excesses of these last few months will continue in 2021. We nevertheless believe this is the right time to incorporate certain high-quality companies, which may indeed be more cyclical and thus less trendy but which will benefit from implementation of the stimulus plans. 2020 was the year when stark divergences emerged between the stock-market performances of the digitalisation and green economy leaders and the rest of the market. We believe that, in 2021, equity valuations will reconverge between virus winners and losers in favour of the latter.

In addition, the Chinese economy is emerging from this crisis even stronger as it is the first to return to the same level of activity as in 2019. Major technology and telemedicine groups have expanded significantly and the country’s interest rates remain positive. The weight of Chinese and Asian securities in portfolios is likely to increase dramatically in the coming years. As such, the stability and openness of the Hong Kong financial market to the world is a key issue, not just for China but also for investors worldwide.

On the bond side, while hopes of gains melted like snow in the sun as interest rates converged towards 0%, we believe the environment remains robust for corporate credit and emerging bonds. This region benefits from its still-positive rates and is expected to benefit from budgetary spending by developed countries. With their orders, the latter are expected to send larger amounts of dollars into international channels. This will ease the risk premiums weighing on certain countries and thus push bond prices higher.

Lastly, the inflationary risks to prices in many sectors of the economy, coupled with continued 0% rates, mean that gold is a vehicle particularly well suited to the environment.

For the economy, in 2021, a strategy based on the intensity of public spending is the one that will be applied. We believe it will prove effective. However, higher debt, excessive stock-market valuations and the potential inflation generated by the stimulus plans are some of the potential medium-term risks we have identified.

Extract from the investment letter by Sébastien Cavernes – Chief Investment Officer – Edmond de Rothschild Monaco

Avertissement legal :

This document is non-contractual and is submitted to you in strict confidence for information purposes and may not be reproduced, transmitted, communicated or used, in whole or in part, to any other person. It does not constitute an investment offer or proposal, nor a recommendation to buy or sell financial instruments or other financial products or banking services, nor any commitment or guarantee from Edmond de Rothschild (Monaco) and does not release you from the need to use your own judgment, including personally checking the information provided by Edmond de Rothschild (Monaco) with the sources who may have been quoted.

It has been drawn up by Edmond de Rothschild (Monaco) with the utmost care. Edmond de Rothschild (Monaco) does not, however, provide any guarantee as to the accuracy and completeness of the figures, comments, analyses and/or research contained in this document. It reflects the opinions and outlook of Edmond de Rothschild (Monaco), based on its expertise, economic analyses and information available at the time of its drafting; these may be modified at any time without notice.

By their nature, forecasted information involves inherent risks and uncertainties, both general and specific, and there is a risk that the forecasts, prognoses and projections will not take place. In each case, this forecasted information represents only one of the many possible scenarios and should not be considered as the most likely scenario.

All investments entail risks, in particular risks of volatility in securities and returns. Past performance and volatilities do not guarantee future perfor-mance and volatilities and are not constant over time. They may also be affected by fluctuations in exchange rates.

We highly recommend that you review this information and form your own opinion independently of Edmond de Rothschild (Monaco), if necessary in collaboration with specialists in the areas covered in this document, in order to ensure compatibility with your personal resources and with the legal, regulatory, tax and other implications.

This document is not intended for persons who are subject to legislation which prohibits them from accessing such information on the grounds of their nationality or domicile.

If information contained in this document have been provided by third parties, such as professionals in financial services or regulated markets, Edmond de Rothschild (Monaco) assumes no responsibility for their quality and accuracy. This information is provided for information purposes only by Edmond de Rothschild (Monaco) and should not be interpreted as an endorsement by Edmond de Rothschild (Monaco) or as a reflection of an accurate financial assessment. Under no circumstances shall Edmond de Rothschild (Monaco) or any other entity of the Edmond de Rothschild Group be held liable for any losses

Post Author: Wealth Monaco

Edmond de Rothschild

You’ll never walk alone

Wealth Monaco vous propose un extrait de la dernière d’investissement de Edmond de Rothschild Monaco, rédigée par son Chief Investment Officer, Sébastien Cavernes, qui développe dans son analyse trois tendances majeures, dont la dépense budgétaire des états, la décarbonisation et la digitalisation.

À l’origine d’une bulle financière, il y a toujours une belle histoire à laquelle un nombre grandissant d’investisseurs adhère. Cela porte les prix des actifs à des niveaux toujours plus élevés. Le crédit se développe et tous les ingrédients sont alors réunis. Toute bulle finit par éclater en entraînant de nombreux investisseurs trop endettés à la ruine.

Aux rabat-joie qui alertent sur le danger d’investir dans une entreprise valorisée à hauteur de 300 fois ses résultats, un nombre toujours plus grand d’acteurs répondent « cette fois, c’est différent ». Pour les avoir entendus à de nombreuses reprises par le passé, ces mots ont une résonnance particulière pour les opérateurs de marchés. Un avertissement annonciateur de la constitution d’une bulle financière. C’est le constat qu’il nous faut désormais faire sur de nombreuses entreprises liées aux deux thèmes évoqués plus haut.

Cependant, si une bulle est probablement en place sur les « pure players » de la digitalisation et de la décarbonisation, il n’en demeure pas moins que ces sujets seront au cœur de l’investissement de toutes les entreprises pour les nombreuses années à venir. Le graphique suivant met en exergue l’engouement incroyable des investisseurs pour les entreprises représentatives de l’énergie verte. Ces envolées de cours spectaculaires nous incitent avant tout à la prudence et à rester à l’écart de ces sociétés spécialisées pour l’année à venir.

La dette importe. Le sacrifice des principes au nom de l’urgence est un choix, mais cette décision a un prix et celui de la dette n’est jamais gratuit ni sans conséquence. La dette est le facteur aggravant de l’éclatement d’une bulle lorsqu’une baisse soudaine des prix se matérialise.

2020 aura été une année très particulière, qui aura vu un effondrement économique mondial. Dans ce tumulte, un clivage marqué s’est mis en place entre les gagnants et les perdants de la Covid. Ainsi, les entreprises liées à la digitalisation de l’économie et de l’économie verte ont réalisé des performances incroyables, alors que les secteurs plus traditionnels de la consommation, du tourisme ou du pétrole se sont effondrés.

Dans le même temps, les investisseurs ont pu assister à l’impuissance des obligations d’État à protéger des portefeuilles diversifiés. Pour amortir les chocs de marchés, l’or s’est révélé être l’instrument qu’il fallait choisir.

Projection de croissance de PIB – Ralentissement puis rebond rapide de l’économie

2021 sera l’année du rebond de l’économie. L’arrivée des vaccins contre la Covid est une étape fondamentale dans le retour à une économie normalisée, dans laquelle les populations et les marchandises circulent plus librement qu’en 2020.

Soutenue par des plans de relances budgétaires de très grande envergure (entre 5 % et 10 % du PIB) et des taux d’intérêt maintenus à des niveaux proches de 0 % (sur presque toutes les échéances de toutes les obligations de tous les pays développés), l’économie devrait enregistrer un très fort rebond. Les plans de relance s’orienteront vers la digitalisation et l’efficacité énergétique.

Les actifs risqués et en particulier les actions devraient être les grands gagnants du mouvement progressif de retour à la normale… à condition de savoir les sélectionner. En 2020, les marchés ont reconnu la crédibilité de ces thèmes en propulsant la valorisation boursière des « pure players » de l’énergie verte et de la digitalisation à des niveaux très élevés.

Pour 2021, nous estimons que c’est du côté des entreprises qui ont le plus à faire en la matière que les opportunités d’investissement sont les plus fortes (secteur de la construction, de l’industrie, de la 5G…).

Les valorisations excessives de certaines entreprises sont à la fois le thème principal de croissance de l’économie pour les années à venir et l’un des risques principaux pesant sur les marchés financiers. Personne ne sait quand une bulle éclatera et des valorisations excessives peuvent devenir plus déraisonnables un temps encore avant de dégonfler lentement ou brutalement. En 2000, le dégonflement de la bulle technologique s’était fait brutalement entraînant tout le marché dans son sillage. C’est pourtant durant cette période de dégonflement que les investisseurs ont redécouvert les vertus des valorisations raisonnables des secteurs les moins « glamour » de l’époque : les banques. Ces dernières ont par la suite réalisé des performances boursières record.

Les relances monétaires et budgétaires sont d’envergure et simultanées dans tous les pays développés. Il est donc fort à parier que les excès de ces derniers mois se poursuivent en 2021. Cependant, nous pensons qu’il est temps d’intégrer certaines sociétés de qualité, plus cycliques certes, et donc moins à la mode, mais qui bénéficieront du déploiement des plans de relance. 2020 aura été l’année où des divergences marquées sont apparues dans les parcours boursiers des leaders de la digitalisation et de l’économie verte et le reste du marché. Notre conviction est que 2021 verra une reconvergence des valorisations entre les gagnants et les perdants du virus à la faveur de ces derniers.

Par ailleurs, l’économie chinoise ressort plus forte encore de cette crise en étant la première à revenir à un niveau d’activité identique à celui de 2019. De grands groupes technologiques et de télémédecine ont pris un formidable essor et les taux d’intérêt du pays demeurent positifs. Le poids des titres chinois et asiatiques dans les portefeuilles est amené à considérablement s’accroître dans les années à venir. À ce titre, la stabilité et l’ouverture de la place de Hong Kong sur le monde sont un enjeu crucial non seulement pour la Chine, mais également pour les investisseurs de la planète.

Du côté obligataire, si les espérances de gains ont fondu comme neige au soleil à mesure que les taux d’intérêt convergeaient vers 0 %, l’environnement nous paraît toujours porteur pour le crédit aux entreprises et les obligations émergentes. Cette zone bénéficie de taux toujours positifs et devrait bénéficier des dépenses budgétaires des pays développés. Ces derniers devraient, par leurs commandes, envoyer une plus grande quantité de dollars dans les circuits internationaux. Ceci aura pour effet de détendre les primes de risque pesant sur certains pays et ainsi favoriser la hausse du prix des obligations.

Enfin, les risques inflationnistes pesant sur les prix de beaucoup de secteurs de l’économie couplés à un maintien de taux à 0 % font de l’or un véhicule particulièrement adapté à cet environnement.

Pour l’économie, en 2021, c’est précisément une stratégie basée sur l’intensité de la dépense publique qui va s’appliquer. Nous pensons qu’elle se révèlera efficace. Cependant, l’accroissement de la dette, les survalorisations boursières et l’inflation potentielle générée par les plans de relance font partie des risques potentiels de moyen terme que nous identifions.

Article: Sébastien Cavernes – Chief Investment Officer – Edmond de Rothschild Monaco

Avertissement legal :

Le présent document est non contractuel et vous est communiqué de façon confidentielle à des fins d’informations et ne peut être reproduit, transmis, communiqué ou utilisé, en totalité ou en partie, à toute autre personne. Il ne constitue ni une offre ou proposition d’investissement, ni une recommandation en vue de l’achat ou de la vente d’instruments financiers ou d’autres produits financiers ou de services bancaires, ni un quelconque engagement ou garantie de Edmond de Rothschild (Monaco) et ne saurait vous délier de la nécessité de former votre propre jugement, notamment en vérifiant personnellement auprès des sources qui pourraient être citées les informations fournies par Edmond de Rothschild (Monaco).

Il a été élaboré par Edmond de Rothschild (Monaco) avec le plus grand soin. Edmond de Rothschild (Monaco) ne fournit toutefois aucune garantie quant à l’exactitude et à l’exhaustivité des données chiffrées, commentaires, analyses et/ou des travaux de recherche figurant dans le présent document. Il reflète les opinions et les prévisions de Edmond de Rothschild (Monaco), compte tenu de son expertise, des analyses économiques et des informations possédées au moment de sa rédaction; celles-ci peuvent être modifiées à tout moment sans préavis.

De par leur nature, les informations prévisionnelles impliquent des risques inhérents et des incertitudes, générales et spécifiques, et il existe un risque que les prévisions, pronostics, projections et autres informations prévisionnelles ne se réaliseront pas. Ces informations prévisionnelles ne constituent, dans chaque cas, que l’un seulement des nombreux scénarii réalisables et ne doivent en aucun cas être considérées comme étant le scénario le plus vraisemblablement réalisable.

Tout placement comporte des risques, en particulier des risques de fluctuation des valeurs et des rendements. Les performances et les volatilités passées ne préjugent pas des performances et des volatilités futures et ne sont pas constantes dans le temps. Elles peuvent par ailleurs être affectées par une fluctuation des taux de change.

Il vous est en particulier recommandé d’examiner ces informations et de forger votre propre opinion indépendamment de Edmond de Rothschild (Monaco), le cas échéant avec l’aide de tous les conseils spécialisés dans les domaines abordés dans le présent document, sous l’angle de la compatibilité avec vos ressources personnelles et celui des conséquences juridiques, réglementaires, fiscales, etc.

Le présent document ne s’adresse pas aux personnes soumises à une législation leur interdisant l’accès à de telles informations du fait de leur nationalité ou de leur domicile.

Lorsque des informations communiquées dans le présent document ont été fournies par des tiers, tels que des prestataires spécialisés dans la fourniture de services financiers ou des marchés réglementés, Edmond de Rothschild (Monaco) n’assumera aucune responsabilité quant à leur qualité et leur exactitude. Ces informations ne sont données qu’à titre purement indicatif par Edmond de Rothschild (Monaco) et ne sauraient être interprétées comme une confirmation par Edmond de Rothschild (Monaco) ou comme reflétant une valeur financière exacte. En aucun cas, la responsabilité de Edmond de Rothschild (Monaco) ou d’une autre entité du Groupe Edmond de Rothschild ne saurait être engagée pour les pertes qui pourraient résulter de l’utilisation des informations contenues dans le présent document et données à titre informatif.

Auteur de l’article : Wealth Monaco